Addis Ababa, 4 November 2015: The African Union Commission Chairperson, Dr. Nkosazana Dlamini Zuma, and the Minister of International Relations and Cooperation of the Republic of South Africa, Ms. Maite Nkoana-Mashabane, signed, on Wednesday, 4 November 2015, the Host Country Agreement for the establishment of the Headquarters of the African Commission on Nuclear Energy (AFCONE).

According to the AU Commission Chairperson, the African Commission on Nuclear Energy will play a key role in supporting sustainable development on the continent, notably in supporting key Agenda 2063 priority areas such as infrastructure, health, agriculture, industrialization and energy (amongst other priorities). The Chairperson of the Commission stressed the positive role that AFCONE will play in advancing the global nuclear disarmament and non-proliferation efforts.

On her part, the South African Minister for International Relations expressed the satisfaction of her government to host the Pan-African institution, noting the significant contribution towards the ultimate goal of achieving a world in which nuclear weapons no longer exist.

Following the signing, the Chairperson of the AU Commission seized the opportunity to call on all concerned States to ratify and accede to the Treaty of Pelindaba and its Protocols without further delay. She further expressed her appreciation to the Republic of South Africa for being graciously hosting of a number of other AU organs.