Addis Ababa, 29 May 2014: The Third Conference of States Parties to the African Nuclear-Weapon-Free Zone Treaty, also known as the Treaty of Pelindaba, opened today at the AU Headquarters. The Conference will conclude tomorrow 30 May 2014. 

The Conference is being attended by the States Parties to the Treaty of Pelindaba and to its Protocols, as well as by relevant regional and international organizations, including the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA), the Preparatory Commission of the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty Organization (CTBTO) and the Forum for Nuclear Regulatory Bodies in Africa (FNRBA).  

The Conference will review the activities of the African Commission on Nuclear Energy (AFCONE), including the implementation of its programme of work and budget. The Conference will also discuss the status of the operationalization of the AFCONE Secretariat and other related issues. 

The Conference was opened by the AU Commissioner for Peace and Security, Ambassador Sma?l Chergui. The opening ceremony also featured statements by the Chairperson of AFCONE, Ambassador Abdul Samad Minty; as well as by the FNRBA Chair, Mr Augustin Simo, the Director for Africa at the IAEA Department for Technical Cooperation, Mr Dazhu Yang, and the Director of External Relation and Legal Division at the CTBTO Preparatory Commission, Mr Genxin Li.

Commission (Chairperson)
Central African Republic